Bread and Water

by Union for Christ

“ The angel of the Lord came back a second time and touched him and said, “Get up and eat, for the journey is too much for you..” – 1 Kings 19:7

I have a severe problem- I like to take control of my life. I like to be in charge of every detail. Every decision that is made, every problem that I face, I like to have control of the situation. There have been plenty of examples in my life where I have taken God out of the situation and tried to handle my problems alone without first seeking Him. I have this skewed belief in my mind that I know what’s best for me and how to solve the problems that burst in. Most of the time, it is because I take things into my own hands that more problems arise. It seems as though in the story of Elijah running away from Jezebel he has the same problem. When confronted with a death and life situation, he flips out and decides that he needs to run; he doesn’t know where he’s going, how far he is running, or even how he is going to survive when he runs. He gets scared and thinks that the best way for him to avoid this situation is for him to leave.
He ends up making things worse. Though he was escaping to not lose his life, don’t you think it is a little ironic that he ran into a desert to keep it? No food, no water, no shelter, he is all alone. He is desperate and scared, cursing his life and wanting it to end so he doesn’t have to deal with the consequences of his actions. As he lays His head to rest an angel of the Lord comes to him, touches him and says, “Get up and eat.” Baked bread and water appear, allowing him to be replenished and restored. He falls back asleep. The angel of the Lord comes back to him, touches him once again, but says something a bit different, “Get up and eat, for the journey is too much for you.”

The journey is too much for you.

The journey that I put myself in is too much for me. Because of my stupidity in not going to God first about my situation, I have turned it into an unbearable journey, one that I can’t handle. I have led myself into a desert where I have no means to be replenished or restored. I have led myself into a desert and complicated the situation even further. . .

But then I’m reminded of God’s never ending grace found in Corinthians 10:13 when the Bible tells me, “No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.” God knew that one day I was going to be stupid and not seek Him first. God knew Elijah was going to run in fear and not seek Him and allow Him to solve his problem. God knew that He was going to need to cushion Elijah’s self- imposed desert experience. So although Elijah failed to acknowledge God, God remained faithful to His promise. 1 Kings 19:6 tells me that God provided a way out for Elijah, just like He promised He would. He gave Elijah Bread and Water. Bread and Water. . .
I would like to suggest to you that Jesus was Elijah’s way out. Jesus, the Bread of Life. Jesus, the Living Water. It was only through Jesus that Elijah, or I, could ever get through the desert and not have it be too much for us to bear. We are given Jesus to get through our struggles and our trials, to ultimately conquer them. So today, know that God is providing bread and water through your desert experience. He has provided a way out so that you can be strengthened and replenished by Him to keep going through your journey and ultimately have victory over it. Be blessed today.

-RM

